San Pedro River Wildlife, Daily Hummingbird, Dawn in my Backyard

There were so many birders at the San Pedro House that I went to hike the trail along the San Pedro River. The butterfly, though, was actually spotted at the San Pedro House. Experts tell me the butterfly is a bordered patch butterfly. The literature says that their identification is “variable,” which explains why my butterfly didn’t look like the reference images. The best method of identification is to contact your regional institution of higher learning and scientific research and request DNA sequencing. Experts haven’t told me yet what species the caterpillar is. If you know the species of the caterpillar, please post it in the comment section.
Today’s Daily Hummingbird is this broad-billed flying at the San Pedro House.
Dawn in my backyard today. When there are no clouds, your choices are to get some early dawn photos, when there is some color, or wait for actual sunrise and try to catch some sunrays. I turned on the security light on the Mancave for some added interest.

Published by Brian Peterson, DVM

I take photographs.

2 thoughts on “San Pedro River Wildlife, Daily Hummingbird, Dawn in my Backyard

Leave a comment